Search
Author
Title
Vol.
Issue
Year
1st Page

Journal of Animal Science | Editorial Board

Journal of Animal Science Editors and Staff

On Jan. 1, 2015, we made much needed changes to the Journal of Animal Science (JAS) editorial and review structure. Why did we make this change? To decrease the time to publication. Time for review, time for revision, and time for final decision are the 3 major factors affecting the interval from submission to publication.  Our changes are targeted at reducing those times. The most visible change will be our conversion from the current Editor-in-Chief—Division Editor—Associate Editor—reviewer structure to an Editor-in-Chief—Section Editor—Reviewer structure.  Changing between these two structures increases the number of people with final decision authority on a manuscript without increasing the number of people serving in these positions. This streamlines the process and reduces redundant, time consuming review. 

Beginning with January 1, 2015 submissions, Section Editors will be authorized to make acceptance, revision, and rejection decisions.  This change will mainly target the times from submission to reviewer invitation, from submission until manuscripts are in review, and from revision until a final decision, rapidly decreasing the overall time to publication.

There are additional changes that will target the times that are permitted for revisions.  These changes are described in the 2015 Instructions for Authors, Journal of Animal Science.

And finally, ASAS is further enlisting the help of our Editorial Board to tackle decreasing the time in review.  Editorial Board members will now be our frontline reviewers.   

The ASAS Board mandates a study of publication efficiency every 3 years. The 2014 study in addition to member and author feedback led to these changes. The goal is to show rapid improvement by July of 2015.

 

 

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF
James Sartin

Journal of Animal Science
American Society of Animal Science
PO Box 7410
Champaign, IL 61826-7410
E-mail: jsartin@asas.org

 

ASSOCIATE EDITOR-IN-CHIEF
Joel S. Caton
E-mail: Joel.Caton@ndsu.edu

 

 

 

SECTION EDITORS

Layi Adeola (ladeola@purdue.edu)

Shawn Archebeque (Shawn.Archibeque@colostate.edu)

Paul Arthur (paul.arthur@dpi.nsw.gov.au)

Paul A. Beck (pbeck@uaex.edu)

Giuseppe Bee (giuseppe.bee@agroscope.admin.ch)

Donagh P. Berry (donagh.Berry@teagasc.ie)

Rupert Bruckmaier (rupert.bruckmaier@vetsuisse.unibe.ch)

Tom Burkey (tburkey2@unl.edu)

Reinaldo F. Cooke (reinaldo.cooke@oregonstate.edu)

Trevor Devries (tdevries@uoguelph.ca)

Frank Dunshea (fdunshea@unimelb.edu.au)

Alan D. Ealy (ealy@vt.edu)                   

Catherine W. Ernst (ernstc@msu.edu)

Shane Gadberry (sgadberry@uaex.edu)

Gretchen Hill (hillgremy@gmail.com)

Sung Woo Kim (sungwoo_kim@ncsu.edu)

Steven M. Lonergan (slonerga@iastate.edu)

Phil Miller (pmiller1@unl.edu)

Mark A. Mirando (mmirando@nifa.usda.gov, markm@asas.org)

James Oltjen (Jwoltjen@jwoltjen@ucdavis.edu)

John F. Patience (jfp@iastate.edu)

Scott Radcliffe (jradclif@purdue.edu)

Eric. J. Scholljegerdes (ejs@nmsu.edu)

Matthew Spangler (mspangler2@unl.edu)           

Leon J. Spicer (leon.spicer@okstate.edu)

Evan C. Titgemeyer (etitgeme@ksu.edu)

Deborah L. VanOverbeke (deb.vanoverbeke@okstate.edu)

Juan J. Villalba (juan.villalba@usu.edu)

Jim Wells (jim.wells@ars.usda.gov)

 

 

 
 

EDITORIAL BOARD

Dustin Boler (2017)

David Buchanan (2017)

Robert Cushman (2017)

Jay Daniel (2018)

Robert Delmore (2017)

Anna Dilger (2017)

Ryan Dilger (2017)

Nicolas DiLorenzo (2019)

Min Du (2019)

Theodore Elsasser (2019)

Mark Estienne (2019)

Christian Feldkamp (2018)

John B. Gaughan (2017)

Robert Goodband (2018)

Pablo Gregorini (2017)

Jesse Grimes (2017)

Josef Gross (2018)

Kristine Hales (2017)

Stephanie Hansen (2017)

Laura Hernandez (2019)

Jennifer Hernandez-Gifford (2019)

Phillip Hynd (2019)

Joshua Jendza (2018)

Karla Jenkins (2019)

G. Cliff Lamb (2017)

Clay Lents (2017)

Phil Miller (2017)

Philipe Moriel (2019)

Christopher Mortensen (2017)

Rainer Mosenthin (2017)

Mike Orth (2019)

Xiangshu Piao (2017)

Matthew Poore (2018)

Lea Rempel (2017)

Guillermo Scaglia (2017)

Jason Scheffle (2017)

Jon Schoonmaker (2018)

Mike Smith (2017)

Hans Stein (2018)

Kendall Swanson (2019)

Alan Tilbrook (2019)

Doug Tolleson (2017)

Kristine Urschel (2017)

Kimberly Vonnahme (2017)

Junjun Wang (2019)

Robert Wettemann (2017)

Brian Whitlock (2018)

Yulong Yin (2019)

 

 


HEADQUARTERS STAFF

Melissa Burnett Membership Manager
Contact for address changes, renewals, replacement and back issues, ASAS orders, invoices, meeting registrations
melissab@asas.org, lizh@asas.org

Meghan Wulster-Radcliffe, CEO
meghanwr@asas.org

Jacelyn Hemmelgarn, COO
jacelynf@asas.org

Emily Mueller, Managing Editor
Contact for questions on proofs and publication
emueller@sciencesocieties.org
 
Brett Holte, Submission Services Manager
Contact for questions on Manuscript Central
bholte@sciencesocieties.org